« Heavyweight has a firm grip on goals | Main | NCAA Wrestling Rankings released »

Iowa "Whipped" in loss to Oklahoma State

The #1 NCAA Wrestling team's coach Tom Brands didn't mince words following the Hawkeyes' first dual defeat Saturday night.

No. 5 Oklahoma State (6-1) sent top-ranked Iowa (7-1) to the loss, 19-14, in front of 14,332 fans at Carver Hawkeye Arena.

"We got whipped," Brands said. "I don't like this feeling because it feels too much like last year - going up and down. We've got a lot of improving to do. I don't like it, but I wouldn't have it any other way because now we know what needs to be done."

Iowa won four of the 10 weights, including two by major decision. Junior Charlie Falck opened the dual at 125 with a narrow 7-5 decision over Ben Ashmore. Falck fought out off his back early in the third period and scored a reversal with one minute left to pick up the win.

Sophomores Brent Metcalf (149) and Phillip Keddy (184) both scored major decisions, while senior Matt Fields closed out the dual with a 4-3 win over Jared Rosholt at heavyweight. Fields picked up his 75th career win with the victory, while Keddy posted his 25th.

Oklahoma State won five of the six matches in which it was favored, and added an upset to its six-win tally.

Top-ranked Coleman Scott held off a late charge by second-ranked sophomore Joe Slaton at 133 to win 8-6 and hand Slaton his first loss of the season. Cowboy senior Nathan Morgan followed with an 8-4 win over sophomore Dan LeClere at 141. Juniors Newly McSpadden (157) and Brandon Mason (174) both scored decisions for Oklahoma State and senior Jake Dieffenbach upset second-ranked senior Mark Perry, 5-3, at 165.

Iowa's next competition will be at the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals Jan. 12-13 at the UNI-Dome in Cedar Falls. The two-day annual tournament features 16 teams from NCAA Division I, 12 from NCAA Division II, 15 from NCAA Division III and NAIA, eight NJCAA teams, seven NWCA teams and five women's wrestling teams.

Oklahoma State 19, Iowa 14
125 - Charlie Falck (I) dec. Ben Ashmore (OSU), 7-5
133 - Coleman Scott (OSU) dec. Joe Slaton (I), 8-6
141 - Nathan Morgan (OSU) dec. Dan LeClere (I), 8-4
149 - Brent Metcalf (I) maj. dec. Quinten Fuentes (OSU). 20-8
157 - Newly McSpadden (OSU) dec. Ryan Morningstar (I), 4-2
165 - Jake Dieffenbach (OSU) dec. Mark Perry (I), 5-3
174 - Brandon Mason (OSU) dec. Jay Borschel (I), 2-0
184 - Phillip Keddy (I) maj. dec. Cody Hill (OSU), 12-2
197 - Clayton Foster (OSU) maj. dec. Rick Loera (I), 12-1
Hwt. - Matt Fields (I) dec. Jared Rosholt (OSU), 4-3