« Keep up to speed on Fargo with HSWrestling | Main | High School Wrestling added in Mississippi »

Dylan Ness, Taylor Massa move within one victory of winning Cadet Triple Crown

Dylan Ness, Taylor Massa move within one victory of winning Cadet Triple Crown
Craig Sesker USA Wrestling

FARGO, N.D. – USA Wrestling Triple Crown winners in the Cadet division have been a rare occurrence at the Junior and Cadet Nationals.

Just three wrestlers – Hayden Zillmer of Minnesota in 2007, Zach Sanders of Minnesota in 2004 and Taylor Moore of Missouri in 2003 – have won Triple Crowns in the Cadet high school wrestling class.

Two new members could join that elite group on Friday afternoon.

Dylan Ness of Minnesota (130 pounds) and Taylor Massa of Michigan (140) each stand one win away from winning Triple Crowns after each reached the Cadet Nationals freestyle finals on Friday morning at the Fargo Dome.

Ness and Massa won Cadet Nationals titles in Folkstyle and Greco-Roman this year.

The Cadet Nationals finals are scheduled for 1 p.m. Friday in Fargo.

There are three 2007 Cadet National freestyle champions who stand one win from defending their titles: Zillmer (91), Hunter Stieber of Ohio (112) and Chris Phillips of Ohio (171).

Zillmer won a Cadet Nationals Greco-Roman title earlier this week.

The other 2008 Greco-Roman champions who are in the freestyle finals are Nick Roberts of Pennsylvania (84), Mark Grey of New Jersey (98), Cody Brewer of Missouri (105), Jahwon Akui of Illinois (160), Andrew Campolattano of New Jersey (189) and Evan Craig of Pennsylvania (285).

The Junior Nationals in freestyle continue with a session later today. The finals in that class are set for 9 a.m. Saturday.

One of the biggest matches of the session came in the Juniors when Oklahoma's Chris Perry downed Iowa's Grant Gambrall 1-0, 0-4, 3-1 at 189. Gambrall is a University of Iowa recruit. Perry, a senior-to-be in high school, is the No. 3 ranked overall recruit in the country by InterMat. Perry's brother, Mark, was a two-time NCAA champion for Iowa.


84 pounds – Nick Roberts of Pennsylvania vs. Dylon Thompson of Colorado

91 – Freddie Rodriguez of Michigan vs. Hayden Zillmer of Minnesota

98 – Mark Grey of New Jersey vs. Joe Orecchio of New Jersey

105 – Cody Brewer of Missouri vs. Robert Deutsch of New Jersey

112 – Hunter Stieber of Ohio vs. Zachary Horan of Pennsylvania

119 – Brandon Wright of Indiana vs. Alex Dieringer of Wisconsin

125 – Louis Trujillo of New Mexico vs. Ryne Cokeley of Kansas

130 – Dylan Ness of Minnesota vs. Stanley Taylor of Nebraska

135 – Destin McCauley of Minnesota vs. Justin DeAngelis of Oklahoma

140 – Colby Kloetzer of Idaho vs. Taylor Massa of Michigan

145 – Blake Roulo of Virginia vs. Anthony Baldasarro of New Jersey

152 – Bryce Hammond of California vs. Joey Chandler of Oregon

160 – Ronnie Balfour of Oklahoma vs. Jahwon Akui of Illinois

171 – Ethan Blackstock of Georgia vs. Chris Phillips of Ohio

189 – Morgan McIntosh of California vs. Andrew Campolattano of New Jersey

215 – Connor Medbery of Colorado vs. Joshua Davis of New Jersey

285 – Evan Craig of Pennnsylvania vs. Tyler Demott of Pennsylvania