« Star Tribune Summer Internship Program | Main | New Minor »

Hearst Journalism Awards Submission Announcement- Broadcast

The Hearst Journalism Awards are looking for their next winning broadcast feature. Entries must be two reports with a total run time of five minutes, based on but not limited to public affairs, business, investigations, science, sports or weather. This soft news, non-deadline reporting of personalities or events must have been produced and aired from September 1, 2009, through November 13, 2010, inclusively.

Submit complete application materials to 110 Murphy Hall no later than October 26. Must be a journalism major to enter. For more information, see the Hearst Journalism Program Awards website.

About the Hearst Journalism Awards-
The Hearst Journalism Awards Program, founded in 1960, is conducted in the public interest, to provide support, encouragement, and assistance to journalism education at the college and university level. The program awards scholarships to students for outstanding performance in college-level journalism, with matching grants to the students' schools.

The 51st annual program offering up to $500,000 in awards, consists of six monthly writing competitions, three photojournalism competitions, three broadcast news competitions (one in radio and two in television), and two multimedia competitions - with championship finals in all divisions. Entrants must be actively involved in campus media and must have published articles, photographs or produced newscasts or multimedia pieces that can be submitted in our writing, photojournalism, broadcast news and/or multimedia competitions.

About William Randolph Hearst Foundation-
The William Randolph Hearst Foundation was established by its namesake, publisher William Randolph Hearst, in 1948 under California non-profit laws, exclusively for educational and charitable purposes. Since then, The Hearst Foundations have contributed more than $759 million in the areas of education, health care, social services, and the arts in every state.