Outstanding Student-Athletes Recognized at the University of Minnesota, Crookston

Contact: Mitch Bakken- Sports Information Director (218) 281-8414

Bowar_Brekken_SAOY.JPG(Crookston, Minn.)- The University of Minnesota, Crookston Athletic Department held its annual athletic awards program on Monday, April 12 in Kiehle Auditorium on the Minnesota, Crookston campus. The event honored the 2009-2010 senior class, recognized the Outstanding Male and Female Athlete of the Year, Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Year and individual team award recipients.  

Earning Male and Female Student-Athlete of the Year honors were Cody Brekken (Jr., Linebacker, Crookston, Minn.) and Kayla Bowar (Jr., SS, Moorhead, Minn.). Brekken led the Golden Eagle defense with 60 total tackles, 32 of which were solo tackles. He was tied for the team lead with two fumble recoveries and is the Student Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) President. Bowar currently has a .270 batting average in 20 games played. She leads the team in runs scored and total bases. She is tied for the team lead in hits, homeruns and RBI. She is a three-year starter and a member of SAAC. To be eligible for the Student-Athlete of the Year Award, an athlete must have a minimum of a 3.2 GPA and be a letterwinner in their respective sport for at least two seasons.

Zelinsky_McBride_AOY.JPGThe 2009-2010 Male and Female Outstanding Athletes of the Year were Keith McBride (Fr., Runningback, Lodi, Wis.) and Jamie Zelinsky (Jr., Guard, Brooklyn Park, Minn.). McBride played in all 11 games this season. He rushed 247 times for 960 yards, an 87.3 yards per game average which was good for fourth in the NSIC. He scored a team-high seven touchdowns and was named NSIC All-Conference Honorable Mention. Zelinsky started in all 27 games and averaged 31 minutes per game. She led the team with 16.4 points per game good for third in the NSIC. She led the team in rebounds with 146, assists with 70 and was named NSIC All-Conference Second Team. She is second in career scoring in Golden Eagle history, was named NSIC Player of the Week and is a SAAC member.

The 2009-2010 Male and Female Newcomer of the Year nominees were announced at the awards program. Male finalists include Keith McBride, and Mike Larsen (Jr., Bluffdale, Utah). Female finalists include Andrea Lariviere (Fr., Crookston, Minn.), Krista Kenyon (Fr., Sanford, Manitoba), Brittani Wiese (Fr., Albertville, Minn.) and Jessica Charles (Fr., Belgrade Lakes, Maine). The winners of the Male and Female Newcomer of the Year Award will be announced at halftime of the Golden Eagle Football homecoming game on Saturday, September 25 against MSU Moorhead.

Other distinguished awards presented:

Servaty_10Knebel.JPGJustin Knebel Memorial Award (Men's Basketball): Jason Servaty (Jr., St. Michael, Minn.)

For more information, visit the Golden Eagle Athletics website at www.goldeneaglesports.com.

Top- Kayla Bowar and Cody Brekken, Middle- Keith McBride and Jamie Zelinsky, Bottom- Jason Servaty.

The University of Minnesota, Crookston is a NCAA Division II Institution and a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC). The Golden Eagle Equestrian team is a member of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA).