2010 Ed Widseth and Agassiz Bowl Scholarship Recipients Recognized at the University of Minnesota, Crookston

Contact: Mitch Bakken- Sports Information Director (218) 281-8414


(Crookston, Minn.)- The University of Minnesota, Crookston Athletic Department recognized the recipients of the 2010 Ed Widseth and Agassiz Bowl Scholarships on Saturday, October 16 at a breakfast on campus and at half-time of the U of M, Crookston and Northern State University football game.
The Ed Widseth Scholarship recognizes those qualities epitomized by Ed Widseth - outstanding athletic, leadership and academic achievements.  A scholarship of $1,500 is awarded, with preference, to an incoming freshman or a college transfer football player and is renewable for up to four years.  A minimum GPA of 3.0 is required to receive this distinguished award.
Ed Widseth, a Gonvick, Minn., native began his football career here in the fall of 1929 at the Northwest School of Agriculture graduating in 1932. He went on to star for the Minnesota Gophers and was a Co-Captain of the 1936 National Championship Team. Widseth was actually a candidate for the Heisman Award and was on Lindy's All-Century Team for Defensive Line. He was the first player drafted by the New York Giants in 1937, played five years in the National Football League (NFL), and was the NFL MVP in 1938. A member of the National Collegiate Hall of Fame, Widseth also was selected in 1991 as a charter member of the Gopher's Men's Sports Hall of Fame and as one of the 20 greatest Gopher athletes ever. The 2010 award winners are Ben McGraw (Wasilla, Alaska), Luke Williams (Port Moody, British Columbia), Andrew Steinfeldt (Green Bay, Wis.), Josh Perea (Pico Rivera, Calif.), and Steven Perry (Poplar, Wis.) For more information about the Ed Widseth Scholarship Endowment Fund, contact Corby Kemmer (Director of Development & Alumni Relations) at (218) 281-8434 or Dan Svedarsky at (218) 281-8129.
The Crookston Chamber Agassiz Bowl Scholarship is a $600 scholarship presented to a student-athlete preferably from the local area. The Crookston Chamber Agribusiness sponsors this scholarship and is working hard to promote agriculture and strengthen the very important relationship with the University of Minnesota, Crookston. The 2010 recipient of the Crookston Chamber Agassiz Bowl Scholarship is Shane Rasley (Deer River, Minn.).
For more information, visit the Golden Eagle Athletics website at www.goldeneaglesports.com.
The University of Minnesota, Crookston is an NCAA Division II Institution and a member of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC). The Golden Eagle Equestrian team is a member of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA).

Photos (Left to Right)- Ben McGraw, Luke Williams, Andrew Steinfeldt, Josh Perea, Steven Perry, Shane Rasley