Sather Scholarship Awarded to Three at the U of M, Crookston for 2010-11 Academic Year

Scholarship recipients were recently named by the University of Minnesota, Crookston for the prestigious Sather Scholarship. Recipients of the Sather Scholarship for the 2010-11 academic year are Matthew Green, a sophomore from Greenbush, Minn., majoring agricultural systems management; Falyn Johnson, a sophomore from Hallock, Minn., majoring in agricultural business; and Cassie Wilson, a sophomore from Thief River Falls, Minn., majoring in natural resources.
Students receiving the Russell O. and Inez Sather Memorial Scholarship must be advanced standing students maintaining at least a 3.0 grade point average and having graduated from a high school in Polk, Norman, Red Lake, Pennington, Marshall, Mahnomen, Clearwater, Roseau or Kittson counties. Applicants were required to write an essay on a person or experience that has had a major impact on their life. Scholarship recipients are chosen by a committee including Ardell Knudsvig, chair; Adam Maruska; Carl Moland; Judy Neppel; and Lori Wagner.

Dr. Russell Sather began serving as an internist with the Northwestern Clinic in Crookston in 1937. He was called to active duty during World War II from 1942 until 1946 and returned to Crookston in 1947 where he continued to practice until 1985. The scholarship was established in 1986.

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers more than 25 bachelor's degree programs and 50 concentrations, including several online degrees, in agriculture and natural resources; arts, humanities and social sciences; business; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of about 1,300 undergraduates, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit

Contact: Corby Kemmer, director, development & alumni, 218-281-8434 (; Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director, communications, 218-281-8432 (