Students Inducted into the U of M, Crookston Chapter of National Society of Leadership and Success in Late April

The University of Minnesota, Crookston inducted 44 students into the National Society of Sigma Alpha Pi Induction.jpgLeadership and Success at a gathering held in Bede Ballroom on Tuesday, April 27, 2010.  Keynote speaker Kenneth Johnson, instructor in the Business Department spoke to the students about vision, leadership, and lifelong goals.

The National Society of Leadership and Success, in its inaugural year on the Crookston Campus, is designed to help students succeed by discussing such topics as leadership, creating a vision, and identifying goals. It serves as a powerful force of good in the greater community by encouraging and organizing action to better the world.

officers.jpgOfficers elected for the 2010-11 academic year include: Publicity Chair Shanel Finke, sophomore, Grand Marais, Minn.; Vice President Brittany Novak, junior, Dahlen, N.D.; President Ashley Williams, junior, Big Lake, Minn.; Secretary Katie Bowar, senior, Moorhead, Minn.; and Events Coordinator Anna Ogaard, junior, Maple Grove, Minn. A treasurer for the group will be named at a later time.

The National Society of Leadership and Success includes 227 colleges with 91,101 members nationwide. Four colleges in Minnesota belong to the National Society for Leadership and Success. They are Minnesota State University, Mankato, Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall, the Humphrey Institute on the Twin Cities Campus, and the University of Minnesota, Crookston.

A nationwide organization, the National Leadership of Society and Success is dedicated to creating positive change. To become a member, students must attend an orientation, three videoconference speakers, three consecutive Success Networking Team (SNT) meetings, and participate in a three-hour long Leadership Training Day. In the past, speakers have included actress Goldie Hawn, Patch Adams, author of Chicken Soup for the Soul Series Jack Canfield, and Famous Amos founder Wally Amos, among others.

For more information about the National Society of Leadership and Success, visit

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers more than 25 bachelor's degree programs and 50 concentrations, including several online degrees, in agriculture and natural resources; arts, humanities and social sciences; business; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of about 1,300 undergraduates, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit

In the photo (left): Shanel Finke, Brittany Novak, Ashley Williams, Katie Bowar, and Anna Ogaard.


Contact: Don Cavalier, director, career and counseling services, 218-281-8585 (; Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director, communications, 218-281-8432 (; Stephanie Onken, communications assistant, 218-281-8446 (