Three Students Awarded East Polk County Fair Board Scholarship at the U of M, Crookston

Three students attending the University of Minnesota, Crookston have been awarded the East Polk County Fair Board Scholarship for 2010. This year's scholarship recipients include Tori Rhode and  Megan Hoff, both from Crookston, Minn.; and Matthew Nielsen, Fisher, Minn.

The scholarship, established in 2004, recognizes the history and significance of the East Polk County Fair which was held annually in Fosston, Minn., for many years. When the fair was discontinued after 1996, members of the fair board decided to leave a legacy from the East Polk County Fair to students at the University of Minnesota, Crookston. Their unique scholarship was designed to provide students from Polk County, Minn., with a preference for students from the 16 townships located in East Polk County. Student recipients must have a grade point average of 3.0 or higher.

"The value of a scholarship in a student's life is hard to measure," states Corby Kemmer, director of the Office Alumni & Development. "We are pleased and grateful that we can honor the legacy of the East Polk County Fair with scholarships for U of M, Crookston students."
For information on opportunities to support scholarships on the Crookston campus, contact Kemmer at 218-281-8434.

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers more than 25 bachelor's degree programs and 50 concentrations, including several online degrees, in agriculture and natural resources; arts, humanities and social sciences; business; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of about 1,300 undergraduates, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit

Contact: Corby Kemmer, director, Development & Alumni Relations, 218-281-8434 (; Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director, communications, 218-281-8432 (