First Two Recipients of Zak American Indian Scholarship Named for 2010-11 Academic Year at the U of M, Crookston

The first two recipients of the Zak American Indian Scholarship were announced recently at 2010-11 American Indian Scholarship 3.jpgthe University of Minnesota, Crookston. The 2010-11 recipients of the scholarship were Junior Dustin Roy, a natural resources major from Waubun, Minn., and Senior Krystal Caldwell, an agriculture major from Warwick, N.D.

Certificates were presented to the recipients after the first annual powwow held on the Crookston Campus on Saturday, April 24, 2010. For a student to be eligible for the scholarship, he or she must be an enrolled member of a federally recognized tribe; must have completed at least one year of college; and have a minimum grade point average of 2.0.

The Zak American Indian Scholarship was established in 2010 by John and Deborah Zak.  John works in University Relations at the U of M, Crookston, and Deborah works for the University of Minnesota Extension where she is the campus regional director, Extension Regional Office, Crookston.

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers more than 25 bachelor's degree programs and 50 concentrations, including several online degrees, in agriculture and natural resources; arts, humanities and social sciences; business; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of about 1,300 undergraduates, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit

In the photo (l to r): Students Dustin Roy and Krystal Caldwell with Deborah Zak.

Contact: Corby Kemmer, director, development, 218-281-8434 (; Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director, communications, 218-281-8432 (