U of M, Crookston Ice Hockey Club Contributes $1600 to Susan G. Komen for the Cure following "Pink the Rink" Fundraiser

Check presentation-Komen 8917.jpgThe U of M, Crookston Ice Hockey Club presented a check for $1600 to Susan G Komen for the Cure on Friday, April 30, 2010, in a special ceremony held in the Business Boardroom on the Crookston Campus. Representative from Susan G. Komen for the Cure, Colin Guidinger was on campus to accept the donation.  The money was raised through the auctioning of the pink jerseys the hockey players wore during a "Pink the Rink" hockey game earlier this year.  The Ice Hockey Club would like to thank everybody who supported the "Pink the Rink" fundraising effort. Check presentation-Komen 8924.jpg

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers more than 25 bachelor's degree programs and 50 concentrations, including several online degrees, in agriculture and natural resources; arts, humanities and social sciences; business; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of about 1,300 undergraduates, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit www.umcrookston.edu.

In the photo, top left (l to r) : Derek Ricke, treasurer and incoming president for the Ice Hockey Club; Brent Swanson, the club's current president; and Susan G. Komen for the Cure representative, Colin Guidinger.

In the photo, bottom right: First row (l to r):  Derek Ricke, Menahga, Minn.; Colin Guidinger (Representative from Susan G. Komen for the Cure), Coach Brett Saari, Green Bay, Wisc.; Brent Swanson, Mason City, Iowa; and Advisor Michelle Ramstad. Second row (l to r): Chase Haubursin, Middletown, Calif.; Eddie Hanson, Apple Valley, Minn.; Kyle Perry, Grand Forks, N.D.; Collin Perry, Grand Forks, N.D.; Martin Husicka, Vsetin, Czech Republic; Ben Sullivan, Crookston, Minn.; and Matt Steinmetz, Rochester, Minn.

Not pictured:  Chris Vogel, Meriden, Kan.; Billy Thompson, Park River, N.D.;  Dan Fletcher, Union, Ken.; Brandon Sachwitz, St. Paul, Minn.; Jeff Carr, Eagle River, Wis.; Chuck Delfosse, Green Bay, Wis.; Vaughn Loomis, Walker, Minn.; Jacob Karras, Janesville, Wis.; Nick Sylvester, Crookston, Minn.; Jared Miettunen, Virginia, Minn.; and Gavin Waslaski, Langdon, N.D.

Contact: Michelle Ramstad, hockey club advisor, 218-281-8483 (umlr005@umn.edu); Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director, communications, 218-281-8432 (ltollefs@umn.edu)