Faculty Staff Day at the U of M, Crookston Celebrates Close of the Academic Year with luncheon and the theme "We're from Everywhere!"

Thumbnail image for facstaffday.jpg

The annual Faculty and Staff Day Program was held Tuesday, May 8, in Bede Ballroom.  Faculty and staff from all units across campus attended the luncheon and program that followed.  The theme for the day was "We're from Everywhere," and faculty and staff commemorated their heritage by donning clothing representing some part of their heritage. Hosting the event were Rachel Lundbohm, instructor in the Business Department, and Kristie Jerde, assistant director of residential life.

Kenneth Johnson, MBA, instructor, Business Department, was presented with the Distinguished Teaching Award.  Donna Larson, accountant, Business Affairs Office, received the Distinguished Civil Service/Bargaining Unit Award.  Two individuals received the Distinguished Professional & Administrative Award: Melissa Dingmann, MEd, director, Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships, and Kenneth Bulie, JD, CPA, lecturer, Business Department.  

The Outstanding Service Learning Faculty Award was presented to ADawn Melbye, MEd, instructor, Agriculture and Natural Resources Department, and the Outstanding Community Service Award went to Jamie Fagerholt, MBA, tutor and testing coordinator, Academic Assistance Center.  Rachel Lundbohm, MBA, instructor, Business Department, was recognized for her Presidents Civic Engagement Stewardship Award from the Minnesota Campus Compact.  

2012_5-8_F-S Day-40 yr 1117.jpgJim Schaar, MDiv, lecturer, Liberal Arts and Education Department, was recognized with the Support Award for Students with Disabilities.  And Tom Feiro, environmental health & safety specialist, presented the campus with a special award of recognition from the Crookston Fire Department.

Chancellor Charles H. Casey and Albert Sims, director of operations  at the Northwest Research and Outreach Center recognized faculty and staff for their years of service. Dale Kopecky, 2012_5-8_F-S Day-35 yr 1121.jpgfarm foreman at the Northwest Research and Outreach Center was recognized for 40 years of service. Paul Aakre, assistant professor in the Agricultural and Natural Resources Department; Susan Brorson, professor and head of the Business Department; Tom Feiro, environmental health and safety specialist; Krista Proulx, library assistant; John Schleicher, building and grounds worker; and Deb Zak, campus regional director for Extension were all honored for their 35 years of service. Recognition was also given for 25, 20, 15, and 10 years of service.

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers 26 bachelor's degree programs, 18 minors, and 36 concentrations, including 10 online degrees, in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; business; liberal arts and education; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of 1,600 undergraduates from 25 countries and 40 states, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit www.umcrookston.edu.

In the photos at top: Jim Schaar, Donna Larson, Kenneth Johnson, ADawn Melbye, Rachel Lundbohm, Melissa Dingmann, Jamie Fagerholt, and Kenneth Bulie.

At left, center, Dale Kopecky

At bottom, right (left to right): Deb Zak, Paul Aakre, Sue Brorson, Tom Feiro, Krista Proulx, and John Schleicher.

Contact: Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director, communications, 218-281-8432 (ltollefs@umn.edu)