U of M, Crookston Welcomes Alumni from Northwest School of Agriculture for Annual Alumni Reunion on Saturday, June, 30 2012

NWSA 2012 Reunion Invite_Page_1.jpgThe Northwest School of Agriculture (NWSA) Alumni Association welcomes alumni back to the University of Minnesota, Crookston campus on Saturday, June 30, 2012, for their annual reunion. Theme for the weekend is "A Summer Place" and the day is filled with activities for alumni.

Three outstanding alumni will be honored with the Top Aggie award, the highest honor awarded by Northwest School of Agriculture Alumni Association. The award recognizes alumni who have displayed exemplary commitment and service to community, church, education, family, or in their occupational field. The Top Aggies for 2012 are Helen (Rasmussen) Tangen '41, Bemidji, Minn; Mark Chisholm '52, Gary, Minn; and Richard Olson '62, Grand Forks, N.D. These outstanding individuals will be recognized during a special luncheon on Saturday.

The NWSA was a residential high school located on the Crookston campus from 1906-68. The reunion weekend is planned by the Office of Development & Alumni Relations in cooperation with the NWSA Alumni Association board and is always held the last weekend in June.

The NWSA alumni reunion, first held in 1918, brings back alumni from the Northwest School of Agriculture, a residential high school located on what is now the University of Minnesota, Crookston campus. The NWSA graduated its first class of 8 students in 1909.

Today the University of Minnesota, Crookston delivers 26 bachelor's degree programs, 18 minors, and 36 concentrations, including 10 online degrees, in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; business; liberal arts and education; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of 1,600 undergraduates from 25 countries and 40 states, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit www.umcrookston.edu.

Contact: Corby Kemmer, director, development and alumni relations, 218-281-8434, (ckemmer@umn.edu ); Ruth Navarro, communications assistant, 218-281-8446, (nava0085@umn.edu); Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director, communications, 218-281-8432 (ltollefs@umn.edu)