Alpha Lambda Delta Inducts Members in Ceremony at U of M Crookston

In a ceremony held Sunday afternoon, April 28, 2013, the University of Minnesota, Crookston
 Alpha Lambda Delta (ALD) Honor Society welcomed its new members. Brian Dingmann, Ph.D., the society's faculty advisor welcomed the initiates and their guests and introduced the guest speaker, Chancellor Fred Wood, who shared with inductees his educational story and some words of advice. 

Along with welcoming the new members, the society announced its new executive board for the 2013-14 academic year led by President Alexandra Skeeter, a junior double majoring in health sciences and biology from Milwaukee, Wis.; Vice President Mary Mikutowski, a health sciences major from Still water, Minn.; Treasurer Brittany Looker, a sophomore double major in biology and health sciences from Rochester, Minn.; and Secretary Josee Plante, a sophomore majoring in health sciences from Manitou, Manitoba, Canada. All Senior members of ALD were awarded cords in recognition of their graduation. 

New inductees include the following students:  
Amberly Pesall, a double major in agricultural business and equine science from New Brighton, Minn.; Alyssa Newburg, an equine science major from Maple Grove, Minn.; Kathryn Sheetz, a biology major from Grand Rapids, Minn.; Shaun Curtis, a software engineering major from St. Cloud, Minn.; MeganBetcher, a natural resources major from Red Wing, Minn.; Brileigh Spilde, an elementary education major from Hillsboro, N.D.; Emily Steeley, an equine science major from Porstmouth, R.I.; Kayla Stampfle, a natural resources major from Arden Hills, Minn.; Chloe Nelson, a biology major from Little Falls, Minn.; Joseph Stefanik, a double major in agricultural systems management and agricultural business from Lebanon, Ind.; Kendra Pahl, a biology major from Fargo, N.D.; Ashley Reichert, an animal science major from Clearbrook, Minn.; Timilehin Kolade Adeniyi, a software engineering major from Bronx, N.Y.; Kaylin Beatty, an equine science major Andover, Minn.; Craig Gapinski, an animal science major from St. Cloud, Minn.; Kole Pederson, a quadruple major in aviation, agronomy, agricultural business and agricultural systems management from Bejou, Minn.; and Stephanie Lane, a natural resources major from Holly Springs, N.C. 

Eligibility for membership in the national honor society for first-year students is based on a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better during the first term or year of college while a student is enrolled full-time. Less than 20% of college freshman achieve this high level of academic performance.

Today the University of Minnesota Crookston delivers 27 bachelor's degree programs, 18 minors, and 39 concentrations on campus--as well as 10 degrees online--in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; business; liberal arts and education; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of 1,800 undergraduates from 25 countries and 40 states, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit

In the photo: Back row, left to right: Kole Pederson; Timilehin Koladi Adeniyi; Curtis Shaun; and Chancellor Fred Wood. Middle row: Elizabeth Tollefson, staff advisor; Stephanie Lane; Craig Gapinski; Emily Steeley; Katie Sheetz; and Brian Dingman, faculty advisor. Front row: Megan Betcher; Ashley Reichert; Chloe Nelson; Brileigh Spilde; and Alyssa Newburg. Not pictured: Joseph Stefanik, Kayla Stampfle, and Amberly Pesall

Contact: Brian Dingmann, associate professor, 218-281-8249 (; Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director, communications, 218-281-8432 (