Two Awarded Sather Scholarships for 2013-14 by U of M Crookston

Scholarship recipients were recently named by the University of Minnesota Crookston for the 
Holtman_Brooke 2428.jpg
prestigious Sather Scholarship. Recipients of the Sather Scholarship for the 2013-14 academic year are Brooke Holtman (top, right), a sophomore from Fertile, Minn., majoring in marketing and Kurt Prudhomme (bottom, left), a junior from Crookston, Minn., majoring in software engineering.

Students receiving the Russell O. and Inez Sather Memorial Scholarship must be advanced standing students maintaining at least a 3.0 grade point average and a high school graduate of Polk, Norman, Red Lake, Pennington, Marshall, Mahnomen, Clearwater, Roseau, or Kittson counties. Applicants were required to write an essay describing an experience or person who has had a major impact on their life. Scholarship recipients are chosen by a committee including Ardell Knudsvig, chair; Adam Maruska; Carl Moland; Judy Neppel; and Lori Wagner.

Prudhomme_Kurt 2432.jpg
Dr. Russell Sather began serving as an internist with the Northwestern Clinic in Crookston in 1937. He was called to active duty during World War II from 1942 until 1946 and returned to Crookston in 1947 where he continued to practice until 1985. The scholarship was established in 1986.

Today the University of Minnesota Crookston delivers 27 bachelor's degree programs, 18 minors, and 39 concentrations on campus--as well as 10 degrees online--in the areas of agriculture and natural resources; business; liberal arts and education; and math, science and technology.  With an enrollment of 1,800 undergraduates from 25 countries and 40 states, the Crookston campus offers a supportive, close-knit atmosphere that leads to a prestigious University of Minnesota degree.  "Small Campus. Big Degree."  To learn more, visit

Contact: Corby Kemmer, director, development, 218-281-8434 (; Elizabeth Tollefson, assistant director, communications, 218-281-8432 (