myU OneStop


Volunteers


Volunteers to Support Lunches for Children

| 1 Comment

URVC VOLUNTEERS SUPPORT LUNCHES FOR CHILDREN

DOOR-HANGER CANVASSING for SUMMER FOOD SERVICE PROGRAM

URVC needs volunteers for this 2nd Harvest Heartland project. On 14 weekdays in the 2nd half of June and early July volunteers will meet in Minneapolis and St. Paul neighborhoods to hang information on residence doorhandles. Volunteers will work in teams. The material is to inform residents of nearby mealsites for children who, during the school year, receive free or reduced cost lunches. This will ensure these children continue to receive regular meals during the summer.

The dates, times, & city areas are:
Sat., June 16, 9 - 11:30 am : Minneapolis Mon., June 18, 1 - 3:30 pm: Minneapolis
Tues., June 19, 1 - 3:30 pm: St. Paul Wed., June 20, 9 - 11:30 am: St. Paul
Thur., June 21, 9 - 11:30 am & 1 - 3:30 pm: Minneapolis
Fri., June 22, 9 - 11:30 am & 1 - 3:30 pm: St. Paul
Sat., June 23, 9 - 11:30 am: St. Paul Mon., June 25, 1 - 3:30 pm: Minneapolis
Tues., June 26, 1:30 - 4:00 pm: St. Paul Wed., June 27, 1 - 3:30 pm: St. Paul
Thur., June 28, 1 - 3:30 pm: St. Paul Fri., June 29, 1 - 3:30 pm: Minneapolis
Mon., July 2, 9 - 11:30 am: St. Paul Tues., July 3, 9 - 11:30 pm: Minneapolis

You can select one or more 2 ½ hour shifts. (You will receive the location after you register.) At that time you will meet a canvassing leader & the other volunteers at the SFSP meal site & be given a name tag, materials & instructions. You will NOT be expected to knock on doors. Wear comfortable clothing & walking shoes, bring sunscreen & a waterbottle and a backpack or carrying bag for the canvassing materials.

As this is an outdoor project it is weather reliant. Shift cancellations will be made due to dangerous heat, rain, or other extreme weather conditions. 2nd Harvest Heartland will alert you by Email no later than 2 hours prior to the shift.

To be registered for this project contact us at the URVC office or direct your Email to Alan Kagan kagan001@umn.edu. Specify the date(s) & shift(s), your full name, Email address, and phone #. If you wish to register yourself we will provide the link.

1 Comment

Certainly, a noble and humane intiative in which I would love to make my own contribution by volunteering . I think this cause deserves to be supported by more people.

Leave a comment

Archives

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by ander049 published on June 6, 2012 3:43 PM.

Chorus America Conference was the previous entry in this blog.

Volunteer Projects for Gardeners and Environmentalists is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.