« The X's First Audition is Coming Up Soon! | Main | TAD Faculty, Students, and Alumni Participate in Theatre Novi Most's Production of "The Oldest Story" »

"Oil! and the Jungle" Auditions Announced

AUDITIONS for
The 2011 Main stage production of
Oil! and The Jungle
Based on the Upton Sinclair novels Oil! and The Jungle
Directed & Led by Kym Longhi & Karla Grotting


Auditions for the Spring 2011 production of Oil! and The Jungle will be held on Monday, September 13th from 6:30pm-10:30pm in 20 Rarig and Wednesday, September 15th from 6:30pm-10:30pm in 10 Rarig.

*Callbacks will be held in a workshop format on Friday, September 17th from 6:30pm-10:30pm in 10 Rarig.*

Rehearsals begin Monday, February 21st and the closing performance is Saturday, April 16th. (Please see below for a more detailed rehearsal & performance schedule.)

If you would like to audition, please sign-up for one of the hour-long time slots on the basement callboard of the Rarig Center.

Students will be auditioned in groups of ten at the top of the hour. The first twenty minutes will consist of a group dance audition. The last forty minutes will consist of individual four-minute auditions (students will be free to leave after the individual audition).

For the solo auditions, students should prepare:

A) A one-minute piece integrating text & physicality
(Text from Oil! and The Jungle is preferred, but not mandatory)

B) A one-minute song
(A cappella or self-accompanied, if you play an instrument)

C) Any additional kind of special talent you wish to highlight
(Hat tricks, magic, acrobatics, etc.)

PLEASE DRESS FOR MOVEMENT

Copies of the Oil! and The Jungle script are available for 48-hour sign-out during office hours (M & W 12pm-1:30pm; TH & F 2pm-3:30pm) through Christine Swartwout (Production Stage Manager) in 580A Rarig.

RE: OIL! and the Jungle general schedule

The general schedule and rehearsal locations are subject to change.
September 13, Monday Auditions 6:30-10:30pm, 20 Rarig
September 15, Wednesday Auditions 6:30-10:30pm, 10 Rarig
September 17, Friday Callbacks 6:30-10:30pm, 10 Rarig

*January 10, Monday-January 14, Friday*
Workshop 9:30a-3:00p, 185 Rarig (Thrust Theatre)

February 21, Monday FIRST REHEARSAL 6:30pm-10:30pm, 20 Rarig

February 22, Tuesday- March 5, Saturday
6:30pm-10:30pm (M-F), 12:00pm-5:00pm (Sa), 20 Rarig
March 7-Monday- March 8 Tuesday, 6:30pm-10:30pm, 90 Rarig (Xperimental Theatre)
March 9 Wednesday- March 11 Friday, 6:30pm-10:30 pm, 185 Rarig (Thrust Theatre)
March 12 Saturday, 12:00pm-5:00pm, 90 Rarig (Xperiemental Theatre)
March 13, Monday- March 20, Sunday SPRING BREAK
March 21, Monday- Friday March 25- 6:30pm-10:30pm, 185 Rarig (Thrust Theatre)

March 26, Saturday: LOAD-IN 8:00am-6:00pm, Thrust Theatre
Rehearsal 12:000m - 5:00pm in Studio A (506)

March 27, Sunday LOAD-IN 8:00am-6:00pm, Thrust Theatre

March 28, Monday Focus on stage 8:00am - 11:00pm, Thrust Theatre
Rehearsal 6:30pm-10:30pm in 20 Rarig

March 29, Tuesday: Rehearsal 6:30pm-10:30pm, Thrust Theatre
March 30, Wednesday: Crew Watch, 7:00pm GO, all running crew called at 6:00pm, for orientation and paperwork, cast called at 6:30pm, Thrust Theatre
March 31, Thursday Tech Rehearsal 6:00-11:00pm, Thrust Theatre
(Tech meeting following rehearsal)
*April 1, Friday 3:45pm-5:30pm Afternoon Rehearsal, 185 Rarig (Thrust Theatre)*

April 1, Friday Tech Rehearsal 6:00-11:00pm, Thrust Theatre
Ready Room 45 - WIG/MAKE-UP reh (cast called6:30p-10:30p)
(Tech meeting following rehearsal)

April 2, Saturday 10 out of 12 TECH/DRESS REHEARSAL(10am-3pm, 5pm-10pm)
(Tech meeting following rehearsal)
April 3, Sunday 10 out of 12 TECH/DRESS REHEARSAL(10am-3pm, 5pm-10pm)
(Tech meeting following rehearsal)

April 4, Monday DAY OFF No rehearsals permitted. Theatre is being held for designers/shops.

April 5, Tuesday DRESS REHEARSAL 6:00-11:00p (7:30pm GO)
(Tech meeting following rehearsal)
April 6, Wednesday: DRESS REHEARSAL 6:00-11:00p (7:30pm GO)
(Tech meeting following rehearsal)
April 7, Thursday: Preview 6:00-11:00p (7:30pm GO)
(Tech meeting following rehearsal)
April 8, Friday: Opening Curtain at 8:00 p.m.

Performance Schedule:
April 8, Friday at 8:00p
April 9, Saturday at 8:00pm
April 10, Sunday at 2:00pm / photo call follows performance
April 13, Wednesday at 7:30p
April 14, Thursday at 7:30p
April 15, Friday at 10:00am
April 15, Friday at 8:00p
April 16, Saturday at 8:00p (closing performance)

Comments

Love your site, good job!

Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it's really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Hello, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things to improve my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting info .

I gotta favorite this internet site it seems very beneficial very helpful

Keep up the good piece of work, I read few articles on this website and I think that your blog is real interesting and contains sets of good info .

Respect to author , some wonderful entropy.

It's the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I've read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article. I wish to read even more things about it!

You have noted very interesting details ! ps decent site.

Regards for this post, I am a big big fan of this web site would like to continue updated.

Everything is very open with a really clear clarification of the challenges. It was definitely informative. Your site is useful. Many thanks for sharing!

University of Minnesota Theatre & Dance News Feed: "Oil! and the Jungle" Auditions Announced Good post. I be taught something more challenging on completely different blogs everyday. It's going to all the time be stimulating to learn content from different writers and follow just a little something from their store. I’d desire to make use of some with the content on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll offer you a link in your net blog. Thanks for sharing. Regards, Indonesian Furniture Manufacturers

Can I just say what a relief to discover somebody that genuinely knows what they're talking about on the net. You definitely understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people need to read this and understand this side of your story. It's surprising you aren't more popular because you definitely have the gift.

If Google is the King, the question is "for how long"? 30 specialist and lookup engines that rock

Post a comment