January 29, 2015

2015 Coakley Ames & Mikelonis Award Recipients

The Undergraduate Committee in the Department of Writing Studies is pleased to announce the recipients of our 2015 undergraduate awards.

* Coakley Ames Writing Excellence Award ($1500): John Orzechowski and Stephanie Ales
* Victoria Mikelonis Memorial Award in S&TC ($200): Matewos Gebrehiwet

More information about these awards can be found on the Undergraduate Awards & Scholarships web page.

Congratulations to John, Stephanie, and Matewos!

December 15, 2014

Writing Studies Collaborates with UMMC on OpenNotes Project

During fall semester 2014, Dr. Lee-Ann Kastman Breuch and a team of Writing Studies students collaborated with Dr. Craig Weinert, MD, to conduct interviews with hospitalized patients regarding the sharing of doctors' progress notes (OpenNotes) at the University of Minnesota Medical Center. Students interviewed patients about what they understood about their condition from the notes, what they liked or disliked about the notes, and how they felt reading about themselves as patients. Preliminary results indicated that patients strongly favored receiving the notes, citing reasons such as having a reference of the hospital stay, feeling more assured of the care they were receiving, and feeling more involved in their care.

November 29, 2014

Watch videos from students, alumni, and faculty about our Technical Writing and Communication program